The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
ADGA Nigerian Dwarf Goats
300 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,
How do you drink your goat's milk and why? Trying to research the pros and cons of raw verses pastuerized is difficult online. In general the research seems to be 1. cow's milk and 2.Commercial dairies. We have a small Nigerian Dwarf herd. I am new to milking and this is the procedure I have been following:
1. put the clean mason jar in the freezer to chill
2. wash my hands with warm water and soap
3. Feed Saphire on the milking stand. Wipe of my hands again with baby wipes and thoroughly wipe her udder with a clean baby wipe.
4. While holding the jar in one hand (in case she picks up her foot and so she doesn"t step in it or knock the jar over.) I mil.k her with my other hand into the jar.
5.When I am finished I spray her teats with "Fight Bac" and release her from the stanchion.
6. Then I put the top on the jar and immediately head to the house where I put the milk in the freezer for 15 minutes to chill it quickly.
7. Then we put it in the fridge and drink it.

I haven't strained it at all since I have found no hairs or debris in it. I also haven't tried to pasteurize it since I am still getting a very little bit. I do realize this will increase once the babies aren't nursing anymore.

Does anyone have any suggestions on ways I could do things better and or weigh in on the pasteurized/non-pasteurized debate?
We all LOVE the goat milk. I am also lactose intolerant and love milk so this is a definite win for me! :D

·
Registered
31,446 Posts