The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been working on leash training my goats for a few months now and I think my goats understand what the leash means. From now on, I will just keep pushing our distances and spacing out treats more until the walk becomes something well known by goats and hopefully something exercising, relaxing, and fun for them. The next command I would like to teach them is come, I plan on using a whistle. How do I teach them this command. What are the steps for this command, and what are your experiences with it?

·
Registered
3,492 Posts
To train to whistle, call their names, whistle, and when they come to you give them each a treat. Do it every day and before you know it they'll come any time they hear that whistle. Just make sure to whistle the same way each time. I give a series of three short toots to call goats. When I whistle for the dogs I use a longer single toot with two pitches. I'm not sure they all know the difference since they all tend to come together no matter which pattern I use, but I try to be consistent on my end. ;)

·
Registered
106 Posts
I take my goats for walks a lot. At first I used food to get them to come to me. I said “come” and used the sound of the food jar rattling to get them over to me. Sunflower seeds, grain, a bit of shredded beet pulp or just pick what you think they’d like (even crackers) and put it in a small container like a plastic container that held some kind of human snacks you can shake to get their attention. I think it took a few days-a week, and they learned “come” without me needing to rattle the jar. I still gave the treat. Now I don’t need to even bring treats because they USUALLY come when called. Treats certainly help. I walk my goats around with my dog and Tom turkey. The bucks and the doelings will follow me anywhere. The does are hesitant to cross the creek, but like walking in the woods and fields.

·
Registered
149 Posts