The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Fawn Dog breed Snout Terrestrial animal Grass
Head Eye Plant Goat Working animal
Super Fainty Myotonic Doeling. She has a cough and is being treated for it with antibiotics. Almost every time she coughs she scares herself and let's out a breathless shriek and rectum pops out like this. Sometimes it goes in itself and a few times I've had to help. Temp/Eyelids are fine.
Her sister died last week, she had the same problems, prolapse, cough treated w/antibiotics. Super super fainty. it is hard to find info on Myotonics unless you're just looking for "funny" falling videos. But I'm wondering if anyone knows if prolapse rectum is common with this breed or if it may just be my gals. I've had some experience with Myotonics but never this sensitive. I was planning to breed for meat but will never breed her now, she's too fainty and delicate, she passes out when the wind blows. She is a pet only. I'd like her to survive but is it best to cull or is she fixable & able to live a decent existence? She is having some blood today because of it popping out so many times. Regularly treated for coccidia, wormed, vaccines etc.

·
Administrator
84,575 Posts
A lot of coughing can cause rectal prolapses.

Inherited issues as well.

Did she have a high fever and ill, as to why she was started on antibiotics? or just a cough?
Does she cough more when running?

Coughs can also be from lungworms, dust, allergies as well.

·
Premium Member
Raising Quality Show & Commercial Goats
5,709 Posts
She is adorable. I would definitely have a vet check her out. I have Myotonics..several hard fainters..I've not experienced this prolapse. Sorry I cant help you

·
Registered
31,449 Posts