Rectal Prolapse 5mo Fainter Doeling

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by psychotichihuahua, Oct 30, 2020.

1. psychotichihuahua

psychotichihuahua New Member

Jan 22, 2020
    Calimesa Ca
    E6AC4547-3C0C-4300-9582-B255FF34098C.jpeg 0D710EAA-FACC-4F4D-99DB-FCA23D27DF2B.jpeg Super Fainty Myotonic Doeling. She has a cough and is being treated for it with antibiotics. Almost every time she coughs she scares herself and let’s out a breathless shriek and rectum pops out like this. Sometimes it goes in itself and a few times I’ve had to help. Temp/Eyelids are fine.
    Her sister died last week, she had the same problems, prolapse, cough treated w/antibiotics. Super super fainty. it is hard to find info on Myotonics unless you’re just looking for “funny” falling videos. But I’m wondering if anyone knows if prolapse rectum is common with this breed or if it may just be my gals. I’ve had some experience with Myotonics but never this sensitive. I was planning to breed for meat but will never breed her now, she’s too fainty and delicate, she passes out when the wind blows. She is a pet only. I’d like her to survive but is it best to cull or is she fixable & able to live a decent existence? She is having some blood today because of it popping out so many times. Regularly treated for coccidia, wormed, vaccines etc.

MadHouse and Moers kiko boars like this.
  2. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

What has the vet said about it? It isn't good that her sibling died from the same thing. Any insight from what the sibling went through?

3. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    A lot of coughing can cause rectal prolapses.

Inherited issues as well.

Did she have a high fever and ill, as to why she was started on antibiotics? or just a cough?
    Does she cough more when running?

Coughs can also be from lungworms, dust, allergies as well.

4. NigerianDwarfOwner707