The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
693 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the registered goat realm, and I have quickly discovered that it is NOTHING like registered dogs! lol! It all seems so difficult! :eek: My question: I have a Nigerian dwarf, registered, but I've never transferred her to my name. She was bred when I got her, and is due to kid within the next few weeks. Can I register her babies without her being in my name? And can I let the babies new owners register them or do I have to register them before I sell them? And do I have to tattoo the babies before selling also? Any input would be most appreciated! I'm not understanding this!! lol

·
Registered
693 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I DO have the mama's papers, I just haven't sent them in to do a name transfer.

·
Registered
1,319 Posts
well first you need to get her transfered to your name, you will need a service memo for the doe,which should be in the paper work, so that the kids can be registered. when the kids are born you fill out the application for registration and there is a transfer sectin that you fill out. you give the filled registration application to the buyer, and the buyer sends it in.

·
1,524 Posts
For you to register the kids, the dam will have to be in your name. If you sell the kids without registering them, like with just the reg application, your name will need to be on the transfer which means the dam will have to be in your name.

·
Goat Girl
2,018 Posts
You do need to tattoo them before they leave. This way the buyer doesn't have to do it and you don't have to worry about the goat not being tattoo'd. As the one filling out the app it is your responsibility to make sure that the goat has all identifying marks (tattoo's/eartags/etc) that the app says the goat has. I have even bought older kids (almost yearlings) who were not tattoo'd yet and had the seller tattoo them for be before I took the goat home.