Rejected newborns

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by Coolbreeze89, Jan 30, 2018.

1. Coolbreeze89

Coolbreeze89 Active Member

Mar 5, 2017
    I’m new to goats in the last month - just got 7 NGD does, all 8-11 weeks now. I’ve been reading threads here EXTENSIVELY for the last couple months to learn as much as I can. My NGDs are doing well and thriving now. A neighbor called yesterday and asked if I could take two orphaned “mostly Nubians” that their grandparents found on their farm and can’t take care of. Best guess on history: born three days ago, abandoned by young mother and found in field. Lived in grandparents’ house eating cow milk out of pan. Unknown colostrum. The boy was found several hours before the girl, and he looks stronger. Boy: has taken 3-4 oz whole milk (heated to 100-103) three times in the last 14 hours. Good suck. Peeing frequently, Active and talkative. I have not seen any stool yet, but stomach isn’t bloated. Girl: much smaller, wobblier but walks around indoor pen (back legs NOT more wobbly than front, so I don’t think WKS?). Pees just as often as brother. Eats but less aggressive/effective suck than brother. Has taken 2.5-3oz three times. She stooled a little this morning, sticky orangey paste. I briefly thought there might have been a tinge of blood, but I think it was just liquid around stool. Temps 101-102 on both (they have a heater on one side of pen, but don’t seem to be preferring that).

Questions:
    1. I have probiotic power powder - 2.5g per goat per day in bottle, per container dosing instruction. Correct?
    2. Adding corn syrup or molasses to bottles? Amount/frequency of either? I’m thinking the girl could use a little energy boost.
    3. Selenium/vit E gel? Should I give? How much?
    4. I have probiotic gel from TSC, but I didn’t give as they were 48+ hrs old when I got them. Correct?
    5.Is baby mylicon ok to give? They sound rumbly... (I am used to human babies, so maybe this is normal).