Rough Labor Doe wont get up! HELP!

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by BreKelsey, Jan 31, 2011.

1. BreKelsey

BreKelsey New Member

Jan 31, 2011
    I'm needing some advice from people who know goats. I have a French Alpine Dairy goat. she is 9 yrs and this was to be her last breeding. She kidded tuesday night. ( I'm new to goats and tried to read up the best I could be wasn't completely sure what to expect) she ended up laying down and laboring for hours (bad I now know).... hard labor trying to push. I finally realized something was wrong and called someone. I tried to go and and help ( the baby was face only and was stuck) I pushed her back found a leg, tried to find another one... but I ended up loosing one baby. it was an extreamly hard pull to get the dead kid out. the mama was so exhausted that she couldn't move, push, nothing. then we got the second kid out and he's fine. well its been almost a week and the mama still wont get up. we've treated her for keetosis (spelling?) and have given her shots for pain and nerve damage ( recommended by our vet) and have drenched her twice a day with two different things ( one for the keetosis an the other is norcalcithol.) I know the vet has us giving her dextross. and an antibiotic. she isn't producing milk so were bottling her baby. and she has no desire to get up. doesn't even try. we can force her up but have to balence her the whole time ( she's kind of a big heavy girl too) has anyone had anything like this happen? what do you do for it?

2. BreKelsey

BreKelsey New Member

Jan 31, 2011
    our vet has us giving her (forgive the spelling) Dextross, norcalcithol, danomine, and dexathethazone for nerve damage and pain. she's really hurting when her meds start to wear off.... I hate to have to put her down... but what other things can I try for her? I don't want her to just lay there and suffer :sigh:

3. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008