The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to keeping goats. I'm in northern Illinois so our weather has been cool and cold at night and miserabley wet. I have about twenty goats, some boers and some alpine does. About ten of them have runny noses and a mucousy cough. The discharge varies at different times from clear to white. My vet insists on no anti biotics without a temp. The highest temp I've gotten was 103.7. I do not want to lose a single animal if there is something I can do to help them. I'm afraid they have pneumonia. What do I do?

·
Super Moderator
32,215 Posts
Pneumonia does not always present a fever...silent pneumonia can have a low temp one minute and sky high the next...This is your call..you are there..these are your goats, not the vets...how are they acting? eating drinking pooping peeing bright eye and alert...then maybe a B complex daily shot will get them through it...but if any are acting just a tad off...treat...
Best OTC for this is Tylan 200 1 cc per 25# every 12 hours for 5-7 day
My choice for RX is Nuflor 3 cc per 100# once a day for 5-7 days

http://www.tennesseemeatgoats.com/articles2/pneumonia06.html

·
Rusty
186 Posts
Glad to see this question