*Sad Update* Pregnant goat with bloody goo.

Discussion in 'Kidding Koral' started by cyanne, Jul 5, 2009.

1. cyanne

cyanne Senior Member

I have 3 pregnant NDs. They were all bred around the same time frame and are due any day now.

All three have started building their udders (they are not huge but have definitely grown), the ligaments don't feel terribly loose to me, but this is my first kidding to I'm no expert by far.

Today I noticed that the oldest female, Pepper (she is the mother of the other two girls so she has kidded before) had bloody colored goop dripping out from her, umm, lady parts. The goop was not solid blood, just tinted with that rusty color. It was really thick and slimy and kind of hung out the back collecting dirt all day so I cleaned her up a little this evening because I was worried about infection.

Now, I read on the Fiasco Farm website that some does will expel CLEAR goop before the birth and that it's normal. It also mentions AMBER colored goo as a sign of imminent birth. The only mention of bloody goo is that it happens about a week after kidding. She definitely has not kidded already.

So, what does this mean? Is this a bad sign or does it just mean that she is close to kidding? She is not acting distressed or unusual in any other way. The only abnormal thing I have seen her do is that she has been going in to lay down inside the plastic Dogloo by herself from time to time when she would normally stick by her two older daughters.

I also noticed that she looked skinnier that she had been looking, like her sides were not sticking out as far as normal, and the area just in front of her hips on either side looked kind of sunken in, like she had not been drinking enough or something (she has access to plenty of clean water). I did read that the kids move before birth so that the right side is not bulging out, so maybe this is what I am seeing when I say she looks 'thinner.'