saddle problems

Discussion in 'Pack Goat Gear' started by colorado-hunter, May 30, 2014.

1. colorado-hunter

colorado-hunter New Member

May 30, 2014
    Hello everyone. I'm new here, but I've read enough to believe there are many knowlegable and helpful users. I'm new to goat packing and have had mixed results. I have two Boers, a buck and a doe. They are both well socialized and friendly with good dispositions. My doe saddles fine with a sopris rookie soft saddle. My whether only gives me saddle trouble when I put the rump strap on. I'm using a wood saddle from northwest. When I try to put the rump strap on, we have a rodeo! We spent 3 hours at the trailhead trying to get saddled and left in frustration. He is just as jumpy when I touch him with my hand. He loves to be petted everywhere but his back end. I check for signs of a sore spot and I'm out of ideas. I'm concerned that I have the straps wrong. This saddle was unfinished when I got it. I had to take it apart for sanding and staining. Last time I got him saddled, the rump strap tended to ride up over the muscle and sit under his tail. Am iI having saddle problems or goat problems? Thanks for the help.

2. Damfino

Damfino Well-Known Member

Dec 29, 2013
    Right behind you
    Right now this is a goat problem. If he doesn't even let you touch him on the back end with your hand, it means he is not gentle enough to be used for packing at this time, and you may be right that he's sore (more on that later). Many goats object to having their rear ends touched when they aren't well-trained and very used to people. Goats mount each other from the rear as a dominance gesture, so touches back there can be taken the wrong way until they understand that you're 1.) already in charge and 2.) not a threat. Your goat may think he's dominant and that you (the subordinate one) have no business touching him from behind. He may also simply not trust you.