The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I recently got 2, 5 week old baby goats (Pygmy/ND) I've had them going on 3 days now. They have been on mom & I'm new to owning goats, I'm having such a hard time Bottle feeding these babies they WILL NOT take a bottle, so I offered Grain & fresh Hay and they love it. They have also been drinking water too. They are both sisters & I've notice one of them has bad diarrhea... I've been giving Electrolytes through bottle and she loves it and will drink the whole thing but when it comes to the Goats Milk Re placer she will not drink it. How do i help this little one with her diarrhea issues? how many times a day do i need to give her the electrolytes? Is it OK for the 5 week old to eat Grain & Hay at this age with no milk?

Thanks so much :)

Attachments

·
Registered
Goat Mentor
7,278 Posts
They are way TOO YOUNG to be weaned. You cannot use replacer, use whole milk, cows or goat from the store.

Get a fecal test for coccidia.

To calculate how much you need to feed: get the babies weight in lbs, multiply by 16 to get the weight in oz. Multiply that number by 10% and you will get the per day amount of how much milk is needed. Then divide that into about 3 or 4 feedings. These directions are from @happybleats and they seem to be the most accurate when it comes to how much to feed.

·
Registered
2,745 Posts
Good advice. They need at least three bottles a day with the feed. Their Ruman is just not ready for solids only. If they wont take the bottle, you can try teach them to drink the milk out of a bucket. Or put A touch of honey on the bottle teat. As they get to 12 weeks they will show signs of only wanting solids.
They are so cute. Good luck.

·
Registered
29,954 Posts
Awe..such dolls!! Im sorry the breeder sold them rrady to go without being bottle trained. Here's a trick that might help.