Scrapie tags

Discussion in 'Show Circuit' started by mnspinner, Jan 9, 2009.

1. mnspinner

mnspinner New Member

Aug 13, 2008
    Just got a phone call from a fellow breeder who purchased two nigerians from Ohio. Apparently they were at the vet for a pre-travel checkup (she drove them home to NY) and the vet put in scrapie tags.
    My friend wants them removed. First of, I don't know Ohio regulation (especially with the ongoing NAIS and other ag organizations ID programs) and she wanted to know if you have to keep the tags in when she shows them at her fair in the spring.
    Secondly, what kind of tool would she use to remove?
    I haven't had to deal with this, and as far as I know a tattoo and/or microchip has been all that's needed to show, at least under ADGA.
    But I'm no expert so looking for answers.
  2. Shelly

Shelly New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Here if the goats are tattooed they don't need scrapie tags. If they don't have a tattoo you must have the tag in to show at fair. To remove are they metal or plastic? The metal ones have a little tab you need to bend back then just separate like a hoop earring. The only way we removed the plastic ones is to cut them. I'm sure they is a different way.
    Here a link to Ohio scrapie laws. ... Update.pdf Shelly

3. Just Kiddin'

Just Kiddin' New Member

Nov 18, 2008
    Southern California
    We are in the Scrapie program but we're in California so I don't know if it would be the same. We have to have some sort of identification. All of our Registered Nubians are tattooed so they don't have to be tagged. When my son has boer crosses born, we tag them with the scrapie tag because they aren't registered or tattooed. At our fair, you have to have tattoos on your registered goats and our market goats always have the scrapie tag.
  4. sweetgoats

sweetgoats Moderator

Oct 18, 2007
    Peyton CO.
    We are inthe scrapies program. I have had several classes on this because I am a goat leader.