The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 4 week old doeling who has been screaming on and off for about an hour. It’s not like the normal cries her and her siblings make, it sounds more like she’s in distress. She’s with her mom and siblings and nothing in her routine has changed at all. I just watched her go to the bathroom so she isn’t constipated, and I can’t see anything physically wrong. It is hot out but she’s got a fan in her stall and has access to water, and it has been hot like this for a few weeks now. Is there something else I should check for? I can call the vet but I don’t know if they will do anything based on the fact that she is just screaming.
I could just be crazy because this is my first time with kids but this just isn’t normal for her to cry like this

·
Registered
11,199 Posts
Get a rectal temperature with a digital thermometer right away and give an subq injection of B-Complex at the same time. Also check FAMACHA score.

You're correct, sounds like something is wrong.

Does the goat kid have access to a creep feeder (free choice grain)? If yes, enterotoxemia would be a concern.

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I called the vet because she just wouldn’t stop screaming. She said to give her some pepto and keep her hydrated and if there is no change in 45 minutes to call her. I gave it to her 30 minutes ago and she hasn’t been screaming but seems very dazed. Her temp is 104.7, it is pretty hot but it is high so I will be relaying that to my vet when I call her back.
She doesn’t have free choice grain and doesn’t seem interested in eating. Looked like she wanted to nurse from mom but walked away.

·
Registered
Goat Mentor
7,400 Posts
That is not a normal temp. She could have an infection.

Why a vet would prescribe pepto when the goat is not suffering GI distress I do not know

Start on B Complex ASAP.

Can we get photos of her?