setting up a goat 101 needed

Discussion in 'Show Circuit' started by StaceyRosado, Nov 11, 2007.

1. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    My goal is to take Sweet Pea to a show this year and I am freeked out about it but I don't want me fear of not having shown before get in the way of showing and make me not show.

So I need a mentor really but in the mean time I wanted to know if anyone could help me with my skittish goat.

Sweet Pea is not so sweet and lovey. She hates being handled and I am trying to get her use to me but I don't have a lot of time during the day. I am still trying though.

I have tried to set her up and even just handle her legs and such but she wants NOTHING to do with it and lays down or crouches or even sits! :hair:

I need some pointers on how to work with her without upsetting her.

Anyone? I am new to everything and I know I made a mistake on choosing her to start my showing. I have even considered selling her in the spring after she kids and buying a new more experienced doe or keeping a doe kid from her who I can handle and won't be so scared of me.

2. Sara

Sara New Member

Oct 4, 2007
    Ellensburg, WA
    Stacey, you and I are in the exact same situation. Holly is so skittish she almost chokes herself when I lead her around so how in the world am I going to get her set up?

3. StaceyRosado

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    well maybe someone can help us both because I know there are people out there who have done it.

4. Muddy Creek Farm

Muddy Creek Farm New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Keokuk, Iowa