The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ok. So I just acquired a doe, unknown age( believed to be older since she has kidded 6 times). She had triplets a week ago and never produced milk, other than a tablespoon of a very thick syrupy goo. We lost two of the kidds within a few hours of getting them home and was touch and go with the third for a while, but is now quite feisty. My concern is with the doe. She has HORRIBLE diarrhea, she's depressed, is quite thin and has thick yellow boogers. Not excessive discharge but it definitely dries and blocks her nostrils. I'm fairly new to goats and haven't had a sick adult yet so don't know where to even start treating her.

My goats have all( excluding one) came from the same place, the babies were all near death, and one had a nasty fracture. And the two does that have came with the babies rejected their babies( so they had no use for them). I know it's a bad idea to be taking these goats in these conditions but otherwise I know they wouldn't survive. Just like with the triplets, she waited too long before calling me and they barely made it home

·
Registered
30,614 Posts
Sounds like you have a very sick mama....
first ..get her temp..101.5 to 103.5 is normal range...
If she has a fever I would start her on tylan 200 which is an otc antibiotic..1 cc per 25# under the skin(sub Q)
no feed until her poop firms up..Good quality hay and alfalfa is good along with green leaves from trees..
Pepto to try to dry her bum and sooth her tummy and
C D Antitoxin to bind toxins..if you dont have C D Antitoxin or cant find it...Milk of magnesia can work as well 15 cc per 60# every 12 hours

I would have a fecal done and include Cocci ..with the weight loss and runs its a high chance she is wormy...IF you can not have one done..I would worm her with Ivomec Plus 1 cc per 40# 3 times 10 days apart then once more in 30 days..