The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Please help, I'm new to goat illnesses. I got this girl and her brother (?) from auction a few days ago. I could tell immediately when I picked her up at the sell barn that she was very underweight. I read that oats help and I had some instant oats on hand, so I've been adding that to her food. I wonder if I messed up because she has diarrhea. It's getting cold outside and I'm worried for her.

I've got her in a spare unfinished bedroom. The bedroom is a little chilly because I want to be able to put her outside at some point, but I'm not against having her in all winter if I have to. She's eating okay, so I gave her wormer pellets. What else should I do? I could Google, but it seems urgent enough to require experienced minds.

The boy is looking fine, but not eating or drinking. He's a little plump, but I wouldn't say he looks bloated. Maybe he's just full from this morning, but I find it unlikely since all the other goats are eating their evening meal. Would oats hurt him? View attachment 241403
Dog Carnivore Dog breed Companion dog Fawn
Gesture Finger Ear Fawn Whiskers
Dog Dog breed Carnivore Fawn Companion dog

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Its so hard to tell. I would get a rectal temp on each one. 101° to 103° is what it should be. Then a poop sample to a vet. They can tell you what worms the little ones have, and what dewormer you need. Or if they have cocci, what meds you need for
those. I feed mine grain. I really like goat grower at Tractor Supply. And a bag of goat minerals are there also.