Silly Chicken Question

Discussion in 'Other Pets' started by tracyqh, Nov 10, 2010.

1. tracyqh

tracyqh New Member

Aug 9, 2010
    Ohio
    I'm new to chickens. Hatched some on 7/6/10 (Delawares) and now they are big, fluffy, eating a ton and laying NO eggs. Granted, they just hit the 4 month old mark and they time change has set in. I noticed the roosters hoping on the hens lately. Now I know you don't have to have a rooster to make eggs :greengrin: , but could this be a sign that everyone is getting old enough to start laying? :chin:

2. GoldenSeal

GoldenSeal New Member

Sep 13, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
    They usually don't start laying until at least 6 months.

3. tracyqh

tracyqh New Member

Aug 9, 2010
    Ohio
    crap. we are anxious for eggs....

4. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    Yep.... need to be a little older... but ...when it is time....give them some egg layer to help get them started... :wink: :thumb:

5. tracyqh

tracyqh New Member

Aug 9, 2010
    Ohio
  6. MissMM

MissMM New Member

Oct 22, 2007
    McGregor, MN
    I wouldn't expect to start seeing eggs until they are at least 18 weeks old. Then you'll start seeing midget eggs, goofy-shaped eggs, but that will level off by 6 months old.

IMHO, I would cull the roosters. They are not needed to 'create' eggs. They are just feed-burning noisy poo monsters. Although after saying that, I've kept the most beautiful roo but keep him out of the pen. He's our 'guard roo.'

7. tracyqh

tracyqh New Member

Aug 9, 2010
    Ohio
    I'm culling them as soon as they are big enough to EAT! (when will that be?) I have a pretty one, but they are getting to be pains. I have a banty "Watch Dog" Rooster. Nothin' get past him. He struts around like he's holding a gernade and is not afraid to use it!

8. FunnyRiverFarm

FunnyRiverFarm New Member

Sep 13, 2008
    Hudson, MI