Slime/mucus in milk

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Holmestead backyard farm, May 2, 2020.

1. Holmestead backyard farm

Holmestead backyard farm New Member

Apr 22, 2020
    North Georgia
    Hello. I am brand new to goats. We bought a 9yr old Oberhasli with her twin now 4 month old does. We started milking her as she weaned them about 2 1/2-3weeks ago. 1 week ago she had clumps and slimy mucus in the milk. Her udder was super hard. We contacted the local vet so isn’t making house calls at this time. He suggested we get the antibiotics from tractor supply, and we did. We followed all the instructions and it seemed to clear up. This was Monday, and it cleared up by Wednesday. Yesterday there was just a little of the slimy yuck, and then lots today. There is no odor and the color is the same as milk.. Is this normal?? She has only one working udder. Previous owner said she got mastitis and it stopped producing on that side. We only get roughly 1 pint per day. I’ve read that she should produce more. I’m wondering if this has something to do with her age. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

CaramelKittey and Iluvlilly! like this.
  2. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    Something bad is brewing in there.
    The vet needs to culture it to determine what it is. To know how to cure it. I am afraid.

Any other vets around?

3. Goatzrule

Goatzrule Well-Known Member

Feb 7, 2013
    New England
    How long did you do the antibiotics?

CaramelKittey likes this.
  4. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Which antibiotic? Did you use Today or Tomorrow that is actually put into the udder? What is her temp? Sounds like she probably still has mastitis. Goats only have one udder.

5. Holmestead backyard farm

Apr 22, 2020
    North Georgia
    The directions said to administer two does 12 hours apart.

6. Holmestead backyard farm

Apr 22, 2020