So Sorry for losses.. is this frequent?

Discussion in 'Kidding Koral' started by milk and honey, Dec 18, 2010.

1. milk and honey

milk and honey Senior Member

Oct 30, 2010
    Everett, WA
    I just wanted to say that I'm so very sorry for all of the losses we have read about lately... there just seems to be so many little ones that just dont make it thru the first month or so! I am a newbie, so I am finding it
    sort of disconcerting and downright scary ... since one of my 2 goats is pregnant and due in Feb. I mean, when dogs are pregnant... I just don't expect any pups to die, and they usually don't.... Is the goat mortality rate
    so much higher... or do we just hear about the losses more... or is this just a tough season?
    Anyway, it must be a very difficult thing to go thru... and I admire all of the knowledge and stamina of you 'seasoned' goat owners, and your willingness to share the experience.
    thanks

2. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    Thank you milk and honey...that is what we are here for.... :hug:

We have people from around the world... telling their experiences and losses with there goats..... so they will.. add up and...sometimes... we do have off seasons ...with more loss or illness..... Loss is not ever easy...I know..... As for.. being more frequent...it does seem... to be a bad year..... for some reason.... :hug: :(

3. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    Losses are few and far between when it comes to kids, sometimes things just aren't quite right with them and not knowing exactly what may be wrong is the hardest part next to losing them. I've had a few losses myself, the first and most devastating to me was losing my Beloved Dolly and her malpositioned twin doelings 3 years ago, knowing what I do now, it would have taken a c- section to get them out and maybe even save my Dolly.