Soap Quesiton

Discussion in 'Crafty Cabin' started by K-Ro, Oct 24, 2007.

1. K-Ro

K-Ro New Member

Oct 13, 2007
    Texas
    I tried a new recipe for Goat Milk Soap. This is a Brown Sugar and Honey soap.

It went to trace fine and I poured it and let it sit, it is almost 48 hours now and it has not hardened much at all. Matter a fact it is not much past trace now.

Any ideas? I am going to leave it for a few weeks and see if it hardens. I was just curious if a more experienced soaper might know what happened. Thanks

2. Pam B

Pam B New Member

Oct 15, 2007
    Southern Michigan
    I'm not experienced at all and have been having problems with my own mixture, so I'm not sure I can be of much help, but you have my empathy that's for sure!

Is this an actual recipe that you followed, or did you create it yourself? It could be you didn't use enough lye for all the liquid.

3. K-Ro

K-Ro New Member

Oct 13, 2007
    Texas
    This is an actual recipe that I can usually add a couple ounces of essential oil, oatmeal and/or aloe too with no problems. The only difference is this batch I added brown sugar and honey to it, so I wasn't sure if it was the honey or sugars that changed things around.

4. sweetgoats

sweetgoats Moderator

Oct 18, 2007
    Peyton CO.
    Sorry, I know NOTHING about making the soap. I am a expert on using it, so if you get it figured out, and you or anyone would like to sell some, I would rather buy for my "friends", then someone that I do not know.
    So let me know.

5. Pam B

Pam B New Member

Oct 15, 2007
    Southern Michigan
    It could be that the honey and sugar added just enough liquid that there wasn't enough lye to make it harden. It sounds like the batch you've got might make a good "liquid" soap. :D My soapmaking notes say that more lye = firmer soap, less lye = softer soap. I guess I'd try it again with a little more lye and see what happens.

6. liz

liz Active Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA