spindly/delicate legs?not-a-very-good-pic-up

Discussion in 'Mini Mania' started by Sonrise Farm, Jan 30, 2009.

1. Sonrise Farm

Sonrise Farm New Member

Sep 18, 2008
    Southwick, Idaho
    Okay, Daisy has spindley/frail looking legs. I really don't like them.
    Is this considered a conformation fault or is it just a personal pet peeve of mine? :shrug:

2. sweetgoats

sweetgoats Moderator

Oct 18, 2007
    Peyton CO.
    Re: spindly/delicate legs?

That is really hard to say without seeing a picture. What you say are spindley/frail legs might not be to others.

3. Di

Di Crazy Goat Lady

Jan 29, 2008
    central PA

I looked at your website, she looks like a lovely doe! Granted, I'm not an expert by any means, but she has great bloodlines, right? I'm not sure Saca has that steep a rump, either, she looks like she didn't want her picture taken, for sure! LOL Maybe you are a bit critical, that's OK, it means you are looking for improvement! That's what we do! My Prairie Wood girls are very fine and dainty like that.

So, Daisy didn't settle? Can you get her bred again?

4. ProctorHillFarm

ProctorHillFarm New Member

I agree, from that picture they dont look spindly?

I know some of the rosasharn stuff can start to get very fine boned, we have a doeling here out of a promisedland doe and a rosasharn buck, who is VERY fine boned, she is also teeny, I think (make that, hope)shes going to be a late bloomer.

5. Sonrise Farm

Sonrise Farm New Member

Sep 18, 2008
    Southwick, Idaho

Daisy didn't settle. She's quite happy about it too. LoL. I was going to ship in a Old Mountain Farm buckling this year and breed her come fall, but we're in the process of moving and my Dad doesn't want me shipping any goats in until after we move and are settled, but I am looking for a good buck to breed both my girls to in the summer.