Split teats. . .please help!

Discussion in 'Beginners Goat Raising' started by pyg_74, Feb 28, 2011.

1. pyg_74

pyg_74 New Member

Feb 28, 2011
    Hello! I am new to this sight and owning goats. I have recently aquired four pygmy goats from an elderly woman who can no longer take care of them. Three of the pygmy goats are pregnant. they are due around March 7th and two of the does have really bad split teats. both teats for one doe is terrible (one is split in two and the other is one looks like three) and the second one she has a "normal" teat on one side and a split teat on the other. my question is are the kids going to be able to nurse on them? is there anything I can do? I don't know much about them, but they have had their shots. any info on split teats would be greatly appreciated.

2. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    You will have to wait and see...sounds like you are kinda stuck with the situation.......

"some" with split teats... can feed their kids ....if the split teat... isn't in the way...so that the kid can nurse normally.....

That is sweet of you to take them in .... If by any chance... the Doe cannot feed the kid(s) you can bottle feed them.....

3. pyg_74

pyg_74 New Member

Feb 28, 2011
    thank you for the info and support, but what about the colostrum? that is my main concern

4. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    You will be able to get colostrum out of her teats...just milk her...put it in a bucket ... then if you are going to bottle train...put it in a bottle....

to insure colostrum... I usually give it in a syringe...I give my boers 2...12cc syringe fulls ...so... I know ...they received their colostrum.... :wink:

5. citylights

citylights Member

Jul 3, 2009
    Southern California