sprained ankle

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by elfess petal, Aug 27, 2010.

1. elfess petal

elfess petal New Member

Aug 27, 2010
    well hello everyone this is my first time posting, so im sorry if i make any mistakes. 2 days ago i went out to bring a goat in thats on a special weight gain diet after being severely anemic for the night to keep her warm, when i noticed that one of my male goats was limping. i brought him in an felt the leg up an down, he had no problem letting me touch his leg an didnt seem like he was in any pain. he was so calm that he let me trim the hooves to make sure nothing was wrong with em, was just a lil swelling in the ankle an still is. its hardly noticable. he puts some weight on the leg but not much an when he walks he uses the tip of his hooves to walk on. overall he's in really good spirits but limping bad. eating normaly an going to the bathroom normaly. ive got him inside so i can watch him, i havent felt he's in pain so i havent gave him any aspirin or a banamien shot, i have lightly wrapped the lower part of his leg for a lil support but he chaffes at having it wraped. what im trying to get to is there anything else i should be doing for him?

i hate to add to his troubles or make him in anyway hurt. the poor guy has already had surgery for uc, a few years ago an almost lost him from it but pulled him through with round the clock care.

2. elchivito

elchivito Active Member

Apr 18, 2010
    It sounds like you're doing all you can. I'd give him a shot of banamine not so much for the pain as for the swelling. He may have stepped in a hole or something. We get that once in a while and it always resolves in a few days. I usually wrap with vetwrap for support.

3. elfess petal

elfess petal New Member

Aug 27, 2010