The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Live. Love. Ride. Milk.
511 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everybody. I have been showing dairy goats for 3 years and have some questions about stacking up(aka squaring up). I have seen at some shows these does that stretch out and lower their backs when they are stacked up. It totally changes the way the goat looks. I have no idea how to get the goat to do this. I stack my Togg's up and they look fine, but I look at other more expirenced goat showers and their goats have their head up, their back stretched out, legs is perfect position. I try to do the same things and it doesn't work. I have changed goats is showmanship classes and the person who gets my goat stackes it up and it looks amazing. I have even(once) stacked one of my Togg's up and she did it by herself. She then went on to win Grand Champion. She had already been shown twice and not placed. Help?!!

·
Premium Member
29,236 Posts
you want the front legs to be in line with the withers, the back legs not to stretched out, should be in line with I think its the thorals (dont quote me on that- im really not good with the parts of a goat :doh: ) Then you run your two fingers along the ridge of their topline till you reach that "magic spot" on most goats its just past the chine. This will "loin" them and they level out.

I would ask your fellow exhibitors to show you how they are handling their goats and you will see exactly how to accomplish it hands on.

·
Live. Love. Ride. Milk.
511 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Are you talking about pinching down? One of the pictures kinda shows were. You have to get them sentitive to it.
No. I know how to do that. This is a pic of a Togg and she is in the position I am talking about. Head up, Back streched out. I know she is the 2012 ADGA National show champ, but it was the pic of what I was talking about.

·
~Crazy Goat Lady~
29,202 Posts