The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

· Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone! I'll be getting a standard Nubian doeling at 4 days old, and would like to bottle feed.
I'm still new to the world of goat ownership, and have been looking at numerous charts on how and when to bottle feed. I'm not the best at math 😆, and there have been different calculations and rations given on each website. I would really appreciate it if I could get a week by week, step by step guide to bottle feeding until weaned. I plan on weaning at 12 weeks.
Thank you in advance!

· Registered
4,458 Posts
It’s not really going to make a difference in the breed of baby, you’ll still want to go by weight and see how the tummy is after feeding.
You don’t want it poochy (overfeeding), just flat firm sides.
this is the chart many of us go by. Each goat is a little different, so you can check the tummy if they are handling a little higher %… so you can start w/ 10% and then bump up as needed.

Font Parallel Screenshot Document Pattern

I know you didn’t want a chart but it really is helpful 😅

· Fair-Haven
6,171 Posts
I breed and raise Nubians. Go by weight ad far as amount . Frequency for me is 4x a day for the first month, 3x a day for 2nd month, then dccrease month 3 to 2 bottles.. start offering hay and grain at 4 weeks or so. Feed goat milk if possible. If not, whole cows milk. Make sure if is warm enough. The biggest thing with bottle kids is DO NOT overfeed.
Make sure you see the kid being bottle fed before you bring it home. Hopefully baby will have a fried the same age? Goats do not do well alone.

· Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
It’s not really going to make a difference in the breed of baby, you’ll still want to go by weight and see how the tummy is after feeding.
You don’t want it poochy (overfeeding), just flat firm sides.