Starting to worry about getting the girls bred.

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by tracyqh, Sep 13, 2010.

1. tracyqh

tracyqh New Member

Aug 9, 2010
    Ohio
    :help: I'm new to goats. Bred horses for nearly 20 years via AI and even work on a breeding farm. Goats are NOT horses. :chin:

We got a LaMancha/boer and Alpine does last spring. My cousin brought his Savanna buck over the 1st of Sept and I seen him breed the Lamachax but the Alpine has never come in heat. I may be alittle early on her though. I've been reading and now I'm thinking the LaMancha is polled or was had an extremely well done disbudding job. She is a 1.5 and the Alpine is now 4. Neither had babies last year but a young buck and too many does was the said culprit. The Apline had twins the year before.

I'm I starting to panic or what? The Lamanchax is due to come in heat around the 20th. If she doesn't, I'm going to ultrasound her. If she's empty, do I worry?

We have just swapped out the Savanna buck for a boer buck. He's only 7 months old and I worry about that too. Can someone either confirm my fears or tell me to get over it? :greengrin:

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    you have seasonal breeders so your does are JUST now coming into heat. This is totally normal and most people dont breed till October/November anyway because the strong heats arent really till the later fall months.

3. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    I agree...don't worry, if your munchie x isn't settled can you bring back the Savanna?

4. tracyqh

tracyqh New Member

Aug 9, 2010
    Ohio
    Thanks for the reasurrance. I was just hoping the girls weren't sterile. If they were a horse, I could palpate the ovaries and check for activity. That won't work for goats! lol

5. kannm

kannm New Member

Mar 18, 2009
    :greengrin:

6. FunnyRiverFarm

FunnyRiverFarm New Member

Sep 13, 2008
    Hudson, MI