Still very new an learning What to do an when now after born

Discussion in 'Kidding Koral' started by osidoa, Feb 20, 2010.

1. osidoa

osidoa New Member

Jan 28, 2010
    Indiana
    Hi Everyone, I am still learning New to all of this I have posted once with my first one kidding an she done good triplets an they are still going strong all little does, now some of my other boer goats have had them I think I am up to around 15 babies now, My next questions are what should they have as far as shots for vaccinations, and when and what age should I band the males, and should I dehorn , the pros an cons to it an what ages? And also what age should I worm them?
    Thanks for your help
    Steve
    Indiana

2. myfainters

myfainters New Member

Oct 29, 2009
    Lancaster, CA
    Hi Steve,

Most of these are personal preference... so I will just tell you what I do here at my ranch.
    We vaccinate horned kids at 1 week and 3 weeks with CD &T
    We disbud at 1 week
    We vaccinate for pneumonia at 6 weeks and 8 weeks
    We worm with Cydectin at 6 weeks and again 10 days later.
    I use Deccox in their grain mix as a preventative for Coccidia.
    I do not vaccinate my adults with CD&T... which is why I do kids so young.... most usually vaccintae at 6 and 8 weeks but I disbud and don't like disbudding without vaccinating first. Polled kids get their CD&T at 6 and 8 weeks of age. I tag ears at 8 weeks of age. I wether at 8 weeks of age.

3. nancy d

nancy d Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 5, 2007
    near Seattle
    This is how I do it.

Newborns get BoSe only if needed.
    If disbudding it should be done the first week. Boers have a very large horn base that's tough to get unless you really know what you're doing.
    At about 2 mos they get their first CDT then again 28 days later.
    I dont worm till weaning time & nobody that's going for meat gets any vacs whatsover.