Such a BAD goat mommy!! :(

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by pennylullabelle, Jan 5, 2010.

1. pennylullabelle

pennylullabelle New Member

Okay, so I've been trying to work with my buck about him being so pushy. Just showing him who is in charge, not allowing him to jump on me, not rewarding bad behavior (like...if he shoves the whethers aside for cookies, I turn my back to him and give them to the whethers). Just this kind of stuff...I'm new to it, but I am taking from what I know about livestock behavior and flight or fight animals.

So...today he and I had a go at it because he was jumping in my wagon to get feed. It's usually cute and I don't mind but he was going for a fiber supplement for the horses and I got scared. In one fast instant he stuck his head in the bucket, I freaked and thought "No! That'll make you poop for hours!!" and I jabed the wagon back toward him to bump him out. I got him GOOD...way more good then I meant too and I bonked his head on the side of the bucket. He stumbled away, shook his head, came back at me sideways like he was gunna head butt me but I got down low and called him in to apologize. One of his scurs had a small seam of blood near the base. I could have cried I felt so bad!!!

So...that's my bad goat mommy moment. I just needed to get it out... :dazed: :mecry:

2. KW Farms

KW Farms Moderator Supporting Member

Jun 21, 2008
    Wapato, WA
    Oh i'm sure he's just fine. :hug: Buck's are very tough and it looks like he needs to learn some manners anyway. :wink:

3. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    oh dont worry -- I've had those moments and really they deserve it - nasty buggers :devilish:

4. pennylullabelle