"Sucked Up" Look. Should I be worried?

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by firelight27, May 1, 2009.

1. firelight27

firelight27 Hopelessly Addicted

Apr 24, 2009
    Southern Oregon
    I am new to goats. My doe has a sort of "sucked in" look to her loin area. Is this normal? You can't tell in photos or from just looking at her unless you are standing right over the top of her. I am sure she was like this when I got her, but I am just now really noticing it. I am a paranoid personality. Lol. Sorry. I worry about all of my animals. I worry about my horses having mysterious problems when I've owned/shown horses for over ten years.

I am thinking its normal anatomy for a goat. She isn't thin. I looked up body scores for goats, and she has fat in all the places she should. Also, how much water do your goats generally drink? It doesn't seem like her water buckets ever diminish, but then I put fresh water in every day and she has two buckets on each end of her pen.

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    She looks like a nigerian dwarf which is a dairy goat. The "sucked in" look is part of her dairy structure.

unless you can feel every rib on her sides then she isnt underweight.

Goodness talk about being worried and paranoid about goats --- talk to RunAround. I call her all the time worrying over something :roll: "they are eating all the time" hours later "oh they stopped eating, I wonder if they are getting enough" :GAAH:

3. AlaskaBoers

AlaskaBoers New Member

May 6, 2008
    Wasilla Alaska
    yep totally normal!

4. firelight27

firelight27 Hopelessly Addicted

Apr 24, 2009
    Southern Oregon