Sudden Kid Death

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by PsRumors, Mar 17, 2011.

1. PsRumors

PsRumors New Member

Apr 11, 2009
    Cartersville, GA
    We sold a nanny and her two kids (3 weeks old) on Friday. Everyone was healthy and happy. We get a call Wednesday morning that one kid had died during the night. Got a call today (Thursday) that the other kid died during the night.

The new owners say the kids were bouncing, playing, eating just like normal the day before.

What could be the cause? There doesn't appear to be any trauma.

2. Sarah

Sarah New Member

Mar 11, 2011
    Olive, Oklahoma
    I cant offer much help as I am new to goats. But I had a dog that was perfectly fine and healthy and happy. I let her out to go potty and then let her back in. She had passed away in the night. At the time I worked for a vet and found out that she had gotten into some poison. (Drank antifreeze or something) So my question would be...What kind of chemicals, toxic plants are around the area that they could have possibly gotten into? My dog showed no signs of illness other than looking back on the situation I did notice her drinking alot of water, but thats it. Sorry I cant help. Just thought that might give you some ideas.
    p.s. maybe they got stepped on or layed on? (internal injury)

3. PsRumors

PsRumors New Member

Apr 11, 2009
    Cartersville, GA
    Thanks Sarah, those were some of my exact thoughts. The new owners had pygmy goats on the same property which I think would rule out poisons but I just don't know.

4. TinyHoovesRanch

TinyHoovesRanch New Member

Hmmmm very odd.

I had a baby goat, he was TOTALLY fine and happy, healthy, playful, but within hours he died, no signs of sickness or anything....

Were the babies given any shots or anything?

I found out my baby boy died from Entrotoxemia, pretty much why we give CDT shots, to prevent that. Its a fast acting disease, often never showing any signs of the disease, maybe thats what happened?