The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Happy Friday!

I'm needing some confirmation that I'm on the right track with one of my 6 year old nannies. I'm a goat newbie by the way!

Sarah is a 6 year old nanny who is on week 9 of nursing a couple of extremely healthy kids. We moved all goats to pasture a couple of weeks ago and they have not been receiving bagged grain for a week. (Side note: We had a bad bag of grain that had some mold on it. We threw it all out when we noticed but it is possible they ate the day before we noticed.)

This morning I noticed that she coughed and then on more close inspection noticed a clear-yellow mucus and she is not bleating very well - kind of like a hoarse-sounding bleat. She sounds like she is very uncomfortable but is eating and moving around well. We secluded her in a pen w/ her little ones so we could watch her better.

We gave her 3cc of Nuflor and 5cc of Vit B all IM this morning and plan to continue dosing her with Nuflor 3 more days. I have not taken her temp and plan to do that tomorrow morning but wondered if there is anything you would do in addition?

She is not the best goat to work with so want to check everything all at once when we get her caught.

Thanks for the advice and apologies for the rambling post.

·
Registered
31,508 Posts
welcome to goat life : )

I would Def. get that temp...
signs are
off by herself
back arched
tail tucked
depressed acting
usually but not always off feed
eyes are not bright and alert
fever is present
snotty nose
congestion
runs in some cases

also consider Goat polio...if she got into the moldy feed that wil cause polio..thiamine (B 1) is the only treatment Fortified B complex in a pinch..So I would add that and C D Antitoxin to her treatment if she is star gazing..pulling head back..may have the runs... stumbling drunk acting..