The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
5,428 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am calling the vet tomorrow.

Cupcake has had an issue with mites/something on her hooves. It's been bloody, puss-y, itchy, painful. It's now spread to her vulva and her udder.

I've treated her with:

Mange treatment
CyLence
Ivermectin
Nustock
PenG
Soap and Water

One hoof is better, 100% better. Three hooves are MUCH MUCH worse.

I have to decide what the issue is. And if I'm going to treat, or put her down.

I've done all that I can on my own.

Suggestions on things to help me decide? I do believe she's pregnant.

·
Registered
8,709 Posts
Soremouth maybe? Sorry if it's not, I'm still kinda new with diseases and such.

·
Registered
8,709 Posts
Hmm, any plants they could get into?

·
Registered
8,709 Posts
True.. Hmm. I can't think of anything else. Interested in what the vet has to say. Sorry I couldn't think of anything..

·
Registered
5,428 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I have a dollar amount in my head. The vet visit plus an amount for testing. If the figure runs much higher than that I might choose to put her down. I just have to think of the bottom line. I don't want to compromise the other goats vet money for one goat.... It sounds silly. I love this goat. She is pretty fabulous. I hope it's an easy solution.

·
Registered
8,709 Posts
Right. :( Have you tried goats milk soap? Or even plain goats milk on it?

·
Registered
8,709 Posts
I would try that. I know personally a lady who has some skin thing, none of the meds worked, and it was on her hands and arms. So whenever she washed her hands, it made it worse. She tried some goats milk soap I had on hand, and it soothed it a lot after one application. Hope that works or at least helps! :)

·
Registered
8,709 Posts
Or any anti-biotics? Maybe some sort of infection?

·
I'm watching you
22,201 Posts
It's a fungus or a yeast. Probably a fungus. Iodine spray and Vagisil cream.