Taste change as a goat ages?

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by TheGnarledStump, Jan 21, 2018.

Tags:
  1. TheGnarledStump

TheGnarledStump New Member

Jan 21, 2018
    This is my first post- I am currently milking three does and noticed my milk was tasting slightly goaty. I dislike this very much! Tonight I narrowed it down to which goat it was, and she's the goat I've been milking since the start (3 years). Can the taste change as they age? They're Nigerian Dwarf and she's not even 4 years old, no signs of mastitis, but I'll be testing with strips tonight.
    Any stories are welcome.
    Thank you

2. groovyoldlady

groovyoldlady Goat Crazy!

Jul 21, 2011
    Central Maine
    There shouldn't be any changes in milk taste due to age. 3 years is a short span in a milker's life! It could be due to something she's eating that the others aren't or, perhaps, a lack of particular mineral.

Kath G. and TheGnarledStump like this.

3. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Do you copper bolus?

TheGnarledStump likes this.
  4. Suzanne_Tyler

Suzanne_Tyler GreenTGoats

Jul 19, 2014
    US
    What all are you giving for minerals?

5. Do you have a buck near her?

6. TheGnarledStump

Jan 21, 2018
    That's what I thought. We're in a very northern climate, so our girls are inside for the winter, all contained and with a non gmo textured ration, good hay and loose mineral and soda available at all times.

7. TheGnarledStump

Jan 21, 2018
    I give them a loose mineral for goats with copper in it, unsure of the brand name

8. TheGnarledStump

Jan 21, 2018
    No- I never drink the milk when we have the buck, I really dislike the taste. We keep a buck for two months and then sell him.

9. TheGnarledStump

Jan 21, 2018
    I make sure at all times they have soda, a loose mineral with copper and a salt block. Plus they're on a good quality dairy goat ration

10. ksalvagno