Taxes

Discussion in 'Business Buzz' started by HollowbeadRanch, Mar 1, 2009.

1. HollowbeadRanch

HollowbeadRanch New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    NW Alabama
    I will start this off I guess :greengrin: I am rebuilding my herd this year, and have been considering keeping up with everything and turning my business in on taxes next year. I have never done this before, so any info on it would be great!! I already know what I can keep up with and take off... like cost of animals; mileage to and from sales, breeder's farms, and shows; medications; vet bills; and anything else to do with the goats (fencing, posts, gates... etc.). Anything else anyone can think of? And how exactly do I go about setting all of this up?? Do I need to open a bank account under my farm name?? Any ideas or info would be GREATLY appreciated :wink:

2. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    tractor repairs ...barn repairs, fence repairs, new computer ( anything pertaining and used for the business (printers ...paper ink ect) new farm truck.... shaving...vaccinations/worming

expenses :fuel,feed,vet... all separately added and placed in a column,, named expenses
    Gains.... Animal sells
    Losses
    sells

I am claiming it as small livestock business (goats)...I never had to come up with a business name at tax time... As long as you do not use a fictitious name while selling your goats you do not need to file for one...just use your own personal name...
    If you make enough per year and need to pay into social security... then you can pay for that ...out of money being paid to you by uncle sam..to keep your points up....If you are not concerned with that then you don't need to worry about it...
    If you have any losses ..such as kids or does... that die ...put down the value of them...at the time of loss..date to,,reason for loss..
    I Have each of my customers fill in a bill of sell made up by me...