teaching my does to be handeled for milking...

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by pennylullabelle, Nov 22, 2009.

1. pennylullabelle

pennylullabelle New Member

I just got two Nigerian does who are most likely pregnant. They are friendly and even pushy when I have food, but a little standoffish when I just come in to visit. Neither likes their sides to be touched and if I get to their tummys they start kicking and run off! :slapfloor: How can I teach them to be handled? I'd like to milk them after they kid, but they've never been milked before. They are both 4 years old. Thanks for the help!

2. countryboy

countryboy New Member

Dec 7, 2008
    I'm not an expert! This is what I did for my wild, never touched two year old I milked this pass time---Put her on the the stand, Put grain in feeder, Used a canning jar and kept it in one hand, As I milked in the jar with the other I followed her teat around so I got the milk in the jar. It is not the best way, but it got the milk in the house. She does get better with time, for sure she liked the feed.

3. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    Newly pregnant does are very protective of their bellies and udders, getting them up on the milk stand and locked in the head gate for feeding is a good start. While they eat, brush them and talk to them gradually moving on to touching their udder....it takes time. By the time they deliver, they'll know to get on the stand for meals and will be more willing about having their bellies and udders touched. They are nigie's right? Be easy with the grain while they are pregnant as you don't want too big of kids, and once they deliver you can increase it to ensure they are producing enough milk.

4. pennylullabelle

Thank you guys so much. I will take it easy on the grain. Is a cup a day each okay? Just want to make sure I give them enough to give me time to handle them while they're in the stand. I know they lick that much from my hands in about a minute!