The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,455 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I’m new to goats having more than 2 teats. Can I get some feedback on these kids’ teat structure? I was thinking about buying them but now I’m not so sure. They are all 100% Boer doelings. Thanks

IMG_1623281377.375954.jpg
IMG_2868.jpg
IMG_2867.jpg
IMG_2866.jpg

·
Registered
30,555 Posts
With all goats, we prefer 2 teats. Boer do have a teat flaw allowance . Here is a boer goat teat chart for you to base your decision on. Best wishes

Attachments

Reactions: LadySecret

·
Registered
1,455 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So just to make sure I’m reading this chart right... 1st kid has disqualifying teats. 2nd and 3rd have acceptable teats. And the 4th has preferred teats. Someone check my work please and thank you.

·
Registered
1,662 Posts
While you can go by the teat chart, you can also set your own preferences. For example, many breeders wouldn’t buy or sell a registered doe that wasn’t anything but the preferred section (P1, P2, P3, P4). Some breeders are sticklers for clean teat structure and others don’t care. It’s going to be based on your plans for your personal program.

For me, the only desirable teat structure is the last doe having clean and well-separated 2+2. Others will feel differently based on their own preferences.

I also want to note out that there’s been talk about the teat structure chart being too lenient and that another (more strict) chart is going to be released soon.

·
Registered
1,455 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
While you can go by the teat chart, you can also set your own preferences. For example, many breeders wouldn’t buy or sell a registered doe that wasn’t anything but the preferred section (P1, P2, P3, P4). Some breeders are sticklers for clean teat structure and others don’t care. It’s going to be based on your plans for your personal program.