The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Goat Feeder
1,416 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was missing a young buckling last night. He was over 20lbs. Shocked that a coyote would run off with one the size he was. This is going to be full scale war.

I have never lost a goat. Not a still born, not a kid that died, nothing.

I am going to bait them and shoot them. Call them and shoot them. Day and night I am going to work on them.

I have lights on timers around the pens where the goats bed. I think the kid was taken from the pasture during daytime.

Any suggestion?

·
Registered
620 Posts
I am no expert on coyotes by no means. But I would recommend a LGD. We have one and she is a blessing to our family and our farm. We have had a lot of coyote activity around us been no trouble since we've had her. Others may have different suggestions and ideas for quick fixes but I would consider the LGD for your long term.

I wish you luck on killing the coyotes!!!

·
Registered
170 Posts
Sorry for your loss. I agree on getting a LGD. We have lots of coyotes around us. Our Great Pyrenees drives me nuts sometimes, but nothing ever bothers our herd. At dark I've noticed they will come find him and bed down around him. He seems more effective than the multiple attempts to shoot the coyotes.

·
Goatless goat momma
7,838 Posts
Sorry for your loss! I have nothing that is helpful, but I'm with milk and honey..... you sound scary! those coyotes need to watch their backs while I slowly back away.....

·
Goat Feeder
1,416 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I have been wanting to get a LGD. I want to get an Antolian Shepard. Hard to find one that is ready to work. I want to buy one that is ready to go to work killing coyotes and dogs that come in the pasture.

·
Goat Girl
1,985 Posts