Thinking about getting some milk goats

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by turtlebutte goats, Dec 21, 2008.

1. turtlebutte goats

turtlebutte goats New Member

Nov 22, 2008
    I am thinking about getting a small herd of mini dairy goats, mostly lamancha and nigerians. I only have 2 goats now, both pygmys, 1 being a fainter. I am new to the goat thing, and am thinking about getting this small herd so I have something I can have bred. My question is, I am not interested in milking at all, I just dont have the time. How do I go about drying up these newbies? Can it be done rather quickly? I have no idea how to milk and want to dry them without having to milk at all. Is this possible?

Thanks!

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    First off lamanchas are not mini unless you get minimanchas which are a cross between Lamanchas and Nigieran Dwarfs

Yes you dont have to milk them. Just leave the kids on mom for 3 months and let mom do the weaning. IF she doesnt wean them herself you may have to "milk" her a little every couple days to ensure she doesnt get to full and develope mastitis. But generally if you leave the kids on mom and dont milk they will wean the kids on their own with causes their production to go down and stop all together.

3. turtlebutte goats

turtlebutte goats New Member

Nov 22, 2008
    Thanks for the information. I guess I need to get more information on the goats I may be getting. I presumed they were older goats who were currently being milked, without little ones at their side. If this is the case, could I pose the same question as above, can I dry them up without alot of effort? Thanks a bunch!

4. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ