The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm getting low on my Purina Noble Goat Grower, medicated, and think I want to introduce alfalfa pellets to my two almost 5 month old NDs (a wether and doe, both just pets).

I'm new to goats so need to run this by you all.....

My plan is to be done with the medicated grower after this bag (another 2 weeks or so), unless there's a reason to keep them on it.

So switch over to alfalfa pellets only. Good idea, yes? If so, what exactly am I looking for (at TCS) ? Last time I was looking there it seemed they had several different types to choose from ( for horses, I believe).

·
Banned
5,944 Posts
I would not suddenly change from one feed to another. If they were my goats, I would go ahead and get a bag of the alfalfa pellets and mix them with what you are currently feeding at the rate of 1/4 alfalfa pellets and 3/4 Noble. In a few day, up it to 1/2 alfalfa and 1/2 Noble, etc., until they are just on the alfalfa pellets. You can stretch it out so you have fed all the Noble by the time they are on straight alfalfa pellets. I would check to see if they have alfalfa pellets made for goats. The pellets are longer and thinner than regular alfalfa pellets. Other than that, I'm not sure what you mean by what are you looking for?

·
Registered
30,622 Posts
I agree..switch slowly for less rumen up set...

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks. I had planned to do the switch slowly. Last time I was at TSC I didn't see any alfalfa pellets in the goat feed section, unless I overlooked them, which is why I was asking.

So I currently feed them 1/4 cup (each) of the medicated Noble Goat twice a day. They each get a 1/2 cup daily (they have free choice hay plus my entire back barnyard). The same on the alfalfa pellets? Or are they less fattening so a little more wouldn't hurt?

·
Crazy Goat Lady
4,324 Posts