thinking on fiber goats in ohio...

Discussion in 'Fuzzy Fibers' started by ohiogoatgirl, Nov 23, 2010.

1. ohiogoatgirl

ohiogoatgirl New Member

Jan 31, 2010
    ohio
    i would like to spin my own fiber to make things (i crochet and weave) for myself and to sell. i have knowledge of dairy breeds and kidding etc. but i have no knowledge at all of fiber goats. i'm in ohio and i was wondering if fiber goats would be good around here or too difficult (which won't slow me down as long as it isn't an expensive difficult :wink: ).
    ~are there differnt breeds of fiber goat?
    ~do they have more difficult kiddings then dairy?
    ~are they more prone to sickness/disease?
    ~do they produce milk like dairy breeds or not enough to be worth the time of milking?
    ~i've never sheared an animal before. is it difficult?
    ~what tools do i need to shear?
    ~would i have to brush the fiber goats daily/weekly/etc. ?
    ~will they get matted in winter?
    ~how often would i shear?

any tips or info anyone would like to give me will be very appreciated! thanks in advance! :help:

2. ohiogoatgirl

ohiogoatgirl New Member

Jan 31, 2010
    ohio
    just found angoragoat.com very informative! no milk though, wool is enough for me.
    ~on average how much wool does one doe produce?
    ~how many fiber goats would you say would make an income. if i were to have a buck (no breeding bills), shear, wash, spin, and sell products (loose wool, yarn, scarves, etc.) myself?
    ~ about what price does wool/wool items go for?

3. milk and honey

milk and honey Senior Member

Oct 30, 2010
    Everett, WA
    I was looking at an angora goat at the fair this year.. and she said that they shear twice yearly, no milk, and she did not brush or maintain the fleece.. I've also heard of people around here who have