Thostle's on his knees...

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by goatmama2, Feb 12, 2008.

1. goatmama2

goatmama2 New Member

Oct 20, 2007
    Upstate New York
    Sorry I haven't been around for a long time! I've missed you guys and hope to stop by more often. Anyway, our buck Thistle had bad feet and we got them all trimmed as best we could because he was down on his knees in his stall. He was up and about, but then last week he was crawling again and I can't seem to straighten his legs anymore. I'm afraid we're going to have to put him down. He is eating, drinking, pooping and peeing okay, but can't get up! He has also had a tumor for many months and we didn't think he'd live this long, but it's much better. Could this be CAE? We had a doe with it several years ago. Any advice is appreciated! Thanks, guys! Brooke :shrug:

2. KikoFaerie

KikoFaerie New Member

Jan 21, 2008
    So. Central Kansas
    Knees

I am not an expert by any means, but this sounds like founder (laminitis) to me.

3. enjoytheride

enjoytheride New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Humboldt Co Ca
    I have no expertise to offer- the being physically unable to straighten his legs does not sound like founder to me. That might mean that he has pain enough to stay off his feet but I don't think it effects the knee joint.
    But you could give him some anti-inflammitory which if it is something like that would give him some relief.
    I have not seen CAE but it does sound like stuff I have read- I'm afraid that I would have to rely on the vet for a diagnosis.
    I'm s

4. goathappy

goathappy New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Illinois
    Where was the tumor at? I would get some chrondoiton(sp?) and give it to him, that is a joint support supplement. Is he showing any other signs of being 'off'?

5. sparks879

sparks879 New Member