Tips for beginner to dairy goats???

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by Willow's Meadow, Mar 7, 2011.

1. Willow's Meadow

Willow's Meadow New Member

Feb 22, 2011
    I might be getting two two month old dairy goats this summer and I am completly new to goats. I have been researching it a lot and reading about it a lot the past few months so I know a little about caring for them. But do you have any tips for feeding, pasturing, stabling and caring for 2 month old goats???

2. TinyHoovesRanch

TinyHoovesRanch New Member

What breed are you getting?

3. ohiogoatgirl

ohiogoatgirl New Member

Jan 31, 2010
    ohio
    i highly recammend the book "raising goats for milk and meat" by rosalee sinn. its a little old but i think its the most helpful for newbies. it has tons of pictures and is in plain english, like its easy to understand. what breed are you getting? good luck!

4. milk and honey

milk and honey Senior Member

Oct 30, 2010
    Everett, WA
    I'm a newbie too! and have Nigerian Dwarf dairy goats... I like the book How to Raise Goats by Carol Amundson... but I've probably learned more here on this forum. I have my two does in my backyard and a new buckling. My housing is pretty minimal.. they dont need much, but they do need a covered dry area to get out of the wind and rain, pasture is good, but I feed mine mostly alfalfa
    along with minerals and black oil sunflower seeds and goat food (grain) . They love attention, petting, treats, playthings to climb on... all of this is pretty easy to give to young goats cause they're so darn cute.. you just want to spend time with them. Good luck and have fun!

5. Steph

Steph Senior Member

May 7, 2009
    PA
    I found Storey's Guide to Raising Dairy Goats to be very helpful when I first got my goats. I got my copy at Tractor Supply.

6. ettasmama

ettasmama New Member

Jun 27, 2010
    Nebraska