To get a buck or not?

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by KLSpoultry, Mar 13, 2009.

1. KLSpoultry

KLSpoultry New Member

Dec 14, 2008
    Omaha, NE
    I'm debating on whether to get a buck or not. I am fairly new to goats, as I just got my two girls last December. I have done my research and am caring for my girls very well and have already been through one kidding. I know he'll need a seperate pen, but creating a new pen is not a problem, just takes some work. I just wanted to hear from those who have bucks and those who don't on why or why not to get a buck. I will have a small herd of 3-4 does, some Pygmy and some Nubian. I'm not breeding to sell babies, although I probably would sell 95% of them. I am breeding to freshen does. Most of the farms that will let me bring my does to them to are at least an hour away and costs $50 each time. I just need some help from people that have been there to help me make my decision.

2. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    It is up to you....but think of how much it will cost to feed , vaccinations , worming , antibiotics , vet bills if need be...to your own buck, compare against the price of the breeding charges and fuel prices ... If you only have a couple of does... which is cheaper in the long run?
    There is only one bad thing about outside breeding...there is that risk of disease..... :(

we have 14 does now and have our own bucks (2) to be exact, but of course... it is cheaper for us ...to have our own....it would kill us in the breeding fee's alone to get all outside breeding... if we didn't have a buck.... :wink:

3. sweetgoats

sweetgoats Moderator

Oct 18, 2007
    Peyton CO.
    MY Opinion is I would not. If you only have a few goats, and you bred them then what? They are a lot of extra work, and if you are not use to the smell, good luck. I do not notice it really anymore other then when they are in serious rut.