Too much Red Cell?

Discussion in 'Parasites' started by Da Goat Nanny, Sep 8, 2017.

1. Da Goat Nanny

Da Goat Nanny New Member

Sep 8, 2017
    Hi all!

I'm staying on a farm in Hawaii and have been put in charge of all animal care- goats and chickens. I have no prior experience but have been reading all I can.

Two does kidded last month and one got anemia. Her symptoms started one week ago and are tiredness, less of an appetite, and almost white gums/nose. No bottle jaw or diarrhea.

The goat vet only comes to our area once a month and won't be here until the end of the month. She helped me over the phone and recommended a
    -5x dose of Safegaurd for 3 days
    -(3x dose of Safegaurd for 3 days for the non anemic momma)
    -1oz (30mL) per day of Red Cell for 2 weeks
    -Bring her leaves- especially legume plants daily
    -It's okay for her 2 kids to keep nursing (they are 4 weeks old)

My question is- is that too much Red Cell? Everything I've read about Red Cell says 6cc per 100lbs. She is 50 lb. I really don't want to overdose her.
    What are symptoms of Red Cell overdose?

Like a dum dum I gave her 30mL yesterday before fully researching everything and now I'm worried. But she's not any worse than yesterday so hopefully it's okay.

Also, should I milk the other doe and try to feed her 2 kids? And I have some Nurti-drench; should I be giving it daily?

Any other suggestions about how to get her well again would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for reading!

capracreek likes this.
  2. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator

I would do the 6cc per 100 lbs from now on. Is she able to nurse her kids?

capracreek likes this.

3. Da Goat Nanny

Da Goat Nanny New Member

Sep 8, 2017
    Do you think I should hold off giving anymore red cell for a day or two? If I should only giver her 3cc then I gave her 10x that amount yesterday!