Too steep in the rump?

Discussion in 'Goat Conformation' started by NDgoatlove, Dec 6, 2017 at 4:52 PM.

1. NDgoatlove

NDgoatlove New Member

Wednesday
    This is my new buckling and I'm wondering if he's too steep in the rump. He's still shy and skiddish so I haven't been able to get any good pictures. I love everything else about him but the rump and he seems to be a bit over at the knees as well. Any and all opinions are welcome.

Attached Files:

catharina likes this.
  2. Suzanne_Tyler

Suzanne_Tyler GreenTGoats

Jul 19, 2014
    NC
    He does seem a bit steep. NDs often are though.

3. mariarose

mariarose Well-Known Member

Oct 23, 2014
    SouthCentralKY, USA
    I think if he were set up he would not look as steep as he does in your photo. I also think the rump is nice and long. I like long rumps.

I don't know what is meant by over at the knees. I'm still learning.

I think he is very nice.

groovyoldlady likes this.
  4. IHEARTGOATS

IHEARTGOATS Well-Known Member

Jun 14, 2016
    Zebulon, NC
    What's it look like when he's walking
    And how wide is it ?

5. NDgoatlove

NDgoatlove New Member

Wednesday
    He walks and moves nicely and is nice and wide in the hind end. Both sire and dam are champions so I'm not worried about it but more wanting to learn more.

6. IHEARTGOATS

IHEARTGOATS Well-Known Member

Jun 14, 2016
    Zebulon, NC
    Not sure when the picture was taken, but their rumps get steeper when they are rutting.

mariarose likes this.
  7. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    He seems to be standing weird like a bit of a squat and his tail is down, cannot judge if he is steep or not with that photo, wouldn't be fair.

8. NDgoatlove

NDgoatlove New Member

Wednesday