Toxemia experience?

Discussion in 'Kidding Koral' started by MutantAtoms, Feb 16, 2013.

Tags:
  1. MutantAtoms

MutantAtoms New Member

Jan 20, 2012
    SE Wyoming
    I'm new to goats as of a year ago, this will be my first batch of kids. I have raised all sorts of other animals, but goats seem to be a unique animal!

Anyway...we have a Boer doe (Babs) that is currently 142 days pregnant. We noticed her laying down more about 1-2 weeks ago and groaning with breathign. At the time we chalked it up to her being the biggest of the 3 does that we had pregnant and she sounded like she was talking to her babies. In the last 3-4 days she has barely gotten up, though every time we check on her she is in a different position/place; hasn't touched her grain mix, and has barely drank water, and her breathing was up to 80/min.

Once we realized she wasn't just going into labor we started doing a lot of fast reading....we started 2 days ago drenching her with "magic" (molases, corn oil, corn syrup) mixed with Tums, or probiotics, or a multivitamin (rotated through these) about 4 times/day. Yesterday we ended up taking her to the vet and he gave her 3 liters of IV fluids and an amp of glucose IV. Even though we are 2 days early for the 144 day mark of inducing...we did give her dexamathasone this morning about 9am. Her status this afternoon: she still hasn't drank much, and has only had a bite or two here and there, she is marginally more active (able to stand up and more resistance to our drenches), Her eyes are a little sunken looking, and I can still feel fetal movement. At about 4pm we gave her Calcium gluconate SQ "just in case".