Toxicity - Vomiting Cud Help?

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by imaginationacres, Apr 14, 2010.

1. imaginationacres

imaginationacres New Member

Sep 27, 2009
    Virginia
    Hi everyone,

Almond Joy one of my relativey new goats began vomiting/spitting out her cud yesterday morning. This has continued until this morning. I got really worried last night and brought her into work (I'm an ER vet tech) and got an I/V catheter in her and administered some injections in case she's got rumenitis/bloat on top of everything else.

She's on I/V fluids now, I gave her a Vit-B shot, Calcium gluconate, pen-g and sodium bicarbonate. I administered activated charcoal when she began vomiting yesterday morning..

Any other suggestions as to what I should do? (There really isn't a great goat vet out here so I've been treating on the advice of the vet I work with..) One of my wethers got into something toxic last summer but he stopped vomiting his cud within 12 hours.. I'm worried because she's still vomiting cud.. she's standing, seems uncomfortable, and chewing the frothy cud that's been coming up.. temp is 101.2, she's in the house to keep her in a stable environment, she was a bottle baby so she seems happier in the house.

Going to try offering some hay shortly..
    [​IMG]

2. RunAround

RunAround New Member

Feb 17, 2008
    Massachusetts
    Poor girl! Sounds like your doing everything you can. Maybe Bio-Sponge? Some Probios?

:hug:

3. sweetgoats

sweetgoats Moderator

Oct 18, 2007
    Peyton CO.
    How old is she?

Just a question. Why did you start her on Penn? Did you take her temp? Was she running a fever?

WOW to be a vet tech and a ER one. I would LOVE to do that. :cool:

4. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    Wish I could help.. with more advice :( ....you are treating her right......I will pray for her.... :pray: :hug:

5. bheila

bheila New Member

Jan 9, 2009
    Kent, Wa