training goats to show?

Discussion in 'Show Circuit' started by myfainters, Oct 29, 2009.

1. myfainters

myfainters New Member

Oct 29, 2009
    Lancaster, CA
    I am rather new to showing and would love to hear how everyone trains their goats to the lead and also to allow proper feet placement?

2. RowdyKidz

RowdyKidz Senior Member

Apr 2, 2009
    NW Ohio
    When I have little kids I put collars on them and get used to that. I also handle their feet alot and just get them used to it. When walking them and setting them up, it takes alot of patience. But in the end it will be worth it. :)

3. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    I rarely actually work with them to a great extent. But I will lead them around from time to time with their collars so they are already use to that as well as they are tied to the fence for feeding so collars are not a new thing to them.

Standing still: haha! You will see that some goats will stand still and some just wont. Unless the goat is very comfortable at shows you will see the handler constantly moving them back into position and stacking them.

I have some who are terrific in the ring while others are terrors.

4. RowdyKidz

RowdyKidz Senior Member

Apr 2, 2009
    NW Ohio
    Ditto Stacey, terrors is right! That sums up 99% of my show goats! :slapfloor:

5. AlaskaBoers

AlaskaBoers New Member

May 6, 2008
    Wasilla Alaska
    start handling them young..touching their feet, messing with their head, and udder etc. that way they'll be easier to show and will be used to be handled.

6. myfainters

myfainters New Member

Oct 29, 2009
    Lancaster, CA