The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I just got three little nigerian does last night. This is my first time with goats. We live on a .5 lot on the county line (we are county). I have chickens too, several fruit trees, and a garden. Unfortunately, within 2 minutes the back neighbor (on his tiny subdivision lot) was yelling from his upstairs bedroom window at my 10 year old daughter while I was unloading from the driveway. Within 5 minutes he had driven the 1/2 mile around his neighborhood to our driveway, and was wanting us to get rid of the goats and the chickens! This guy was very rude. The first thing that came out of his mouth was that he wanted to call the cops but that there was already a cop here and he couldn't...fyi the hubs is a LEO. This puts us in a very awkward position. Two of the ladies are young and the third is hopefully expecting. This guy seems a bit unreasonable. He is trying to sell his house the last two months and is blaming a no sale on our chickens and goats! I don't smell a thing with my very sensitive nose but he says it wreaks. My chickens are free-ranging so it's not like we have a close quarters, smelly place. I spoke with this man's wife three weeks ago and specifically asked about the chickens...she had NO complaints and actually said she liked them. So, have any of you experienced issues with your neighbors? What do you do? I don't want to be a bad neighbor but now after our interaction and seeing how unreasonable this man is, I don't see any resolution.

·
I'm watching you
22,271 Posts
Make sure that your DH files a report so that if anything weird happens to your goats it is there as proof of the troublemaker.
Other then that, ignore him and go on with your life. You don't have to make his life happy for him. That's his problem. As long as you are following the laws and caring for your animals in a reasonable manner, then live your life however makes you happy.

·