twist's udder*update on the bucks-faith's kid is in!*

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by SDK, Dec 9, 2008.

1. SDK

SDK New Member

Jun 26, 2008
    Yucaipa ca
    so i got some (not so great) pictures of twist's udder today.. i'm going to try and get better ones later this week

what do you think? criticize please.. but.. nicely

she does have a small fore pocket.

she milks about a quart each milking.. almost 10 weeks fresh and first freshener

2. AlaskaBoers

AlaskaBoers New Member

May 6, 2008
    Wasilla Alaska
    Re: twist's udder

i'm new to this, but i'll try anyway....

needs a higher/wider rear attachment. has good placed teats/medial.

3. Muddy Creek Farm

Muddy Creek Farm New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Keokuk, Iowa

From what I can tell she needs higher, tighter and wider rear attatchments. She has an ok medial, but needs better placed teats and as you said, a smoother foreudder. :thumb:

Hope that helps!!

4. SDK

SDK New Member

Jun 26, 2008
    Yucaipa ca

i'm trying to find a buck to breed her to that will improve that.. i'd breed her to kevin.. but i'm looking at other bucks too

5. liz

liz Active Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA

IMO, She has a great medial and really nice capacity but does need improvment with a higher, wider rear attachment and her teats are a bit off to the side.

6. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ

I wouldnt worry to much about the forudder until her second freshioning. They can smooth out with freshionings. Lola the doe I am getting comes from lines that have slow maturing udders. Have great capacity but lack in the forudder area the smoothness until later freshionings. I would focus more on a buck who can improve the rear attachment. Medial looks good.