Two day old kids coughing...

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by motherofmaidens3, May 1, 2018.

1. motherofmaidens3

motherofmaidens3 New Member

May 1, 2018
    I am very new to this, I have had goats since I was very young but only dealt with full grown- no kids. Now I have 2, two day old kids that the dam abandoned. One was fine the other had "weak kid syndrome", finally worked with them enough to get them on a bottle (the one without "weak kid syndrome" did better but was still difficult to start on the bottle). But now both are coughing and lethargic. I've taken temps and both are normal. They do both have scours (which may be why they are lethargic) from the milk replacer so I just started electrolytes, but the cough has me worried at such a young and fragile age. However, as I said I am totally new to this! Is it normal for a new kid to cough and have some congestion? Because pneumonia from aspiration (from the bottle) keeps running through my head since they did have some trouble getting started with the bottle. Please any and all advice would be welcome!

2. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

That isn't normal. After the electrolytes, use whole milk from the store. I'd give them B complex. I'd have a vet listen to their lungs.

3. SalteyLove

SalteyLove Well-Known Member

Jun 18, 2011
    New England
    Check the roof of the mouths just for peace of mind that there is not a cleft palate in there.

What type of replacer are you using? They definitely shouldn't be scouring at 2 days old. Did they get colostrum?

Just to be sure - you took their temperatures rectally with a digital theremometer and they were between 101.5 and 103.5 F right?

4. motherofmaidens3

May 1, 2018